Ramadan Day 29

Day 29: The Namumba of Ghana

Abdallah lives in the traditional capital of his people group, Bimbilla, in the south-eastern corner of the northern region of Ghana. This region is Muslim territory. Asked why he became a Christian, he tells this story with a smile: “…I have seen the light! I had been seeing it on and off for many years, an indescribably pure light. It was different from the lights I had seen in connection with witchcraft or evil spirits! One night in my dream, I saw this light rising over my daughter. Shortly after that, a pastor from a brother tribe came to my house and invited my daughter to get schooling at his wife’s school. Because of the dream, I agreed. At that time, I was seriously ill. One day, the head mistress felt led to pray for the sick relatives of her pupils. That morning, as I lay on my mat, I suddenly saw the light again and was healed instantly! When my daughter told me about the prayers, I knew where my healing had come from. I started attending church and the pastor explained the gospel to me. My daughter and I put our trust in Jesus as our Lord and Saviour.”

How can we pray?

  • Pray that God prepares many other Nanumba people for an encounter with Christians.
  • Ask for the few Christians in Bimbilla (mainly workers from other tribes) to reach out to the Nanumbas.
  • Pray for new converts, like Abdallah, to grow in faith and become bold witnesses to their people.

Proclamation: Father God, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, we declare to all Christians: Clothe yourselves with tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, long-suffering; bearing with one another, and forgiving one another. If anyone has a complaint against another, forgive as Christ forgave you. Choose to put on love above all, which is the bond of perfection. (Colossians 3:12-14)

Leave a Reply

